The lobster quadrille

In “Alice in Wonderland,” when Alice meets the Mock Turtle, and they all have a bit of a song and dance. The chorus goes like this:

“Will you, won’t you,  will you, won’t you join the dance?”

That’s exactly where I am right now. Stuck in an endless circle of uncertainty. Maybe I’m going to Paris, maybe not. I know this is a massive moan, but I’m so unsure and it’s driving me crazy. I am SO ready to go to Paris for a bit, and get out of my fog in Edinburgh, so that I can come back with a fresh perspective. If that’s not to be, then it’s not going to be. However, the last-minute swinging from one to the other is leaving me on edge and unable to enjoy anything until I know one way for sure.

In other news, today I said goodbye to a very very good friend. He’s moving, with his lovely wife, to Hertfordshire, and I’m going to miss them both a lot.
Also, this puppy

stood on the “s” key on my keyboard, and broke it, which is making typing quite a bit more difficult. Although, fewer words have the letter s in than I thought.

I also visited one of my favourite families in the whole world today. I used to live with them for a summer while I was in between flats, and they are such a joy to be around, and have blessed me in so many ways. The newest addition to their family is a little guy named Ben, and he is absolutely adorable. I got to hang out with all 4 children, and have a great family dinner time with them all, it really made my afternoon a perfect one. They also found my camera, which had been missing for over a year. It’s really amazing to have something like that returned to you after so long, with photos on you forgot you’d even taken. It’s like finding an unlabelled analogue film, and going to get it developed. The excitement when you go to pick up a packet of pictures with no idea about what they could be is one of my favourite feelings. I’ve found some amazing pictures from the weddings of some good friends, and I’ll be uploading soon I’m sure.

I have a visit from Mummy Schultz tomorrow. Going to show her the beautiful festival Edinburgh, and also (eek) introduce her to my boy. Hopefully I’ll be able to persuade her to buy me the mustard skinny jeans I’ve been craving.

 I just learnt how to insert html links into text. Skill for the day I think. And I’m nearly finished knitting my scarf. Not bad for the end of August. Even if I don’t know which country I’ll be in this time next week, I’m taking comfort in the little things I accomplish, one at a time.

love,

becs

1 Comment

Filed under What on earth?

One response to “The lobster quadrille

  1. Aw Becs, I hope it gets sorted soon and you get to spend some time in Paris. Take that camera along and keep posting. Loving this blog!

Leave a Reply

