La vie boheme

Rent is pretty much my (second) favourite musical of all time.

First place will always go to My Fair Lady, mostly because I’ve been watching it since I was a tiny child, and Rent isn’t really toddler-appropriate. Also, My Fair Lady encouraged me to speak with received pronunciation, despite my being from the North-East, and therefore prone to some kind of regional dialect.

Imagine my surprise, then, when I realised that Cedric Diggory, Kingsley Shacklebolt and I had never sat down together to watch Rosario Dawson, Idina Menzel et al! Boy has watched me watch Rent. I mostly cried over Mimi, despite having seen the film many many times. I love her.

I decided to remedy this lack of musical theatre in my little boys’ lives. In hindsight, maybe 6 months is too young to be watching Rent. Even if you are a bunny. They didn’t seem to enjoy it much anyway. They’d rather be running round, listening to funk music (they must actually be boy’s children).

This post wasn’t supposed to be all about Rent. I think I was going to write about macarons.

There’s a gorgeous French owned bakery/cafe around the corner from my flat. We went for luncheon a couple of days ago, and oh my word was the carrot soup delightful! I also had a parma ham and blue cheese sandwich. Good.

Boy had comte, which he can’t pronounce, followed by the most beautiful macaron I’ve ever seen. It looked exactly like the ones I was attempting to make the first time I attemped macarons (they’re hard. I’ve attempted four times now, and got nowhere.)

It was filled with white chocolate ganache, and raspberries, and it was huuuuuge.

So we split it. Only fair.

I then chatted up the waiter/owner to see if he could help fix my macaron baking disasters. Apparently it’s all in the almond butter, and the temperature of the oven. I didn’t have the heart to tell him that mine have yet to make it the the oven stage – they never firm up and become “tacky” like they’re supposed to when you leave them for 15 minutes before oven time.

I got a different recipe, so I’m going to try it out again. Hopefully with an extra pair of hands – I struggle with piping bags.

Here is a picture of Cedric, because I promised one.

I’m not sure this is the most coherent of posts, but my brain isn’t awake yet.

Leave a comment

Filed under Domestic Goddess, I love, Very good food

Leave a Reply

