On beauty

This week, I really love Edinburgh.

Maybe it’s because it (finally) feels like it’s maybe not such a struggle to get out of bed and ready for class in the morning.

Maybe it’s because Spring has certainly sprung, and oh gosh, Edinburgh looks amazing.

Maybe I’m just having a good couple of weeks. If so, I intend to enjoy it for as long as it lasts.

This week I finally plucked up the courage to go to Edinburgh Books. It’s a gorgeous shop I’ve always been scared to go in to browse, in case they don’t like browsing. I don’t know why I was scared, they were lovely folk, and let me wander.

I came away with a Gabriel Garcia Marquez I didn’t know existed, some PG Wodehouse (for days when you don’t feel well and need delightful comfort books, Jeeves is the man), and some Hemingway.

I’ve been ignoring Hemingway for a long time, because I tried to read The Sun also Rises, and it was dire. Also, that time in 10 things I hate about you where Julia Stiles says:
“Romantic? Hemingway? He was an abusive alcoholic misogynist who squandered half his life hanging round Picasso trying to nail his leftovers.”

(no I did not have to look that up, I LOVE THAT FILM)

I’m giving Hemingway a second chance. If The old man and the sea is even half as nauseating as The sun also rises, then that’s game over.

Boy and I received some joint post this week (!) inviting us to my best friend in the WHOLE world’s wedding. YAY. We ran to the shops to get an acceptance card, picked up a card to write to Smudge from the bunbuns, and had a lovely hipster coffee date in Artisan Roast. I love that they opened an Artisan Roast in Bruntsfield. Best. Coffee. Ever.

And finally, I’m visiting my family at home, and I just found this gorgeous cross stitch my Mother made for me when I was teeny tiny and just starting ballet.

That one in second position, with the glasses and the ponytail? Yup, that’s me. What a talented lady. I could gush more about how amazing my Mama is, but I’m really lucky in being able to spend this weekend with her, so I’m going to do just that.

Have a lovely Sunday.

becs

2 Comments

Filed under Domestic Goddess, Edinburgh, Home sweet home, I love, Phototastic

2 responses to “On beauty

  1. Just had to stop by and check out your blog… thanks for leaving a comment on my Frockstock guest post! I am having fun browsing through your posts! It is definitely a culture shock compared to where I live–your pictures are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

