On y va

I’m in the middle of a very long set of train journeys.  I left Tournan en Brie about 7 and a half hours ago, and I’m due in Edinburgh in 3.

This is the stir fry I promised last week. Apologies for the delay, and also apologies that it’s really a pretty obvious recipe.

Marinate chicken in soy sauce, oyster sauce, lime juice, chilli, and sesame oil. Fry shallots, garlic, and spring onions in flavourless oil in a wok. When they’re soft, add chilli and grated ginger, and stir for another couple of minutes.

Add the chicken, a little more flavourless oil, sesame oil, soy sauce, and oyster sauce. Cook for about 5 minutes, then throw in whatever vegetables you want. My favourites are red peppers, mange tout, broccoli, and courgette. Stir stir stir. I like to add toasted cashew nuts at this point as well (maybe that’s too much protein, I don’t know)

When everything is lovely and cooked, add toasted sesame seeds, cooked noodles, the juice of 2 limes, and a huge handful of chopped coriander.

One final stir, then eat in a big bowl, with chopsticks, and keep the rest in a tub to eat cold for lunch the next day. Yum.

I had mine with lovely Leffe. Ace.

When I get back to reality I’ll post some French stories. There are some good ones.

1 Comment

Filed under Domestic Goddess, Very good food

One response to “On y va

  1. The simplest of recipes are usually the best of meals. 🙂

Leave a Reply

