Happy Thanksgiving and other sundries

This year will be only the second time I’ve celebrated thanksgiving. As a British girl, the holiday doesn’t mean much to me, but I’m enjoying how into the festivities the Americans I’m around are.

Paris is turning into a festive wonderland. I’ve been caught in a good few downpours while out exploring all of the pretties, and haven’t minded getting soaked through at all. This realisation came after I paid 8€ for an umbrella which lasted less than 5 minutes. Of course you don’t trust street vendor umbrellas. Of course. I haven’t embraced the rain so emphatically since my fresher’s week in Edinburgh, when I assumed that it would rain every day I lived there, so I should just get used to it. It didn’t, so I didn’t.

Since I last did any blogging, I’ve been back in the UK for a week, started French classes, missed a couple of French classes (early mornings, you are my downfall), read a lot of Philip Pullman in French and not much of anything in English – boo, and eaten a lot of cheese. I also discovered you can buy a litre bottle of Heineken for not very much money, completely ruined a pair of boots, and started knitting my Christmas presents. Sort of.

So, to conclude, a short list of things I am thankful for:

  • Paris, and all of the beautiful tourist places that remain beautiful, 3 months on.

(Here follow some grainy pictures)

  • Good health.
  • Peppermint tea (I have started drinking a little – decaf – coffee, but peppermint is my true love)

(Another grainy iPhone photo of my favourite way to brew peppermint – make a bag of loose tea and suspend it over a cafetiere. Brilliant)

  • And, finally, because I didn’t post on Remembrance Day, I am increasingly thankful for all those who served and are serving in armies and navies and air forces all over the world.

These flowers were on every war memorial I passed in early November.

Happy thanksgiving.

Leave a comment

Filed under I love, Paris

Leave a Reply

