Is this the best burger in Paris? Part one: Breakfast in America

Just look at this beauty!

I am, once again, on a burger kick. While the French might not be great at eating with their hands (I’ve seen burgers eaten with knife and fork), there are still a number of decent burgers to be had. I’m going to eat them all, and then pick my favourite (and probably eat there far too often).

First up, Breakfast in America.

Breakfast in America 2 is in the Marais, very close to Saint Paul métro, which happens to be one of my favourites (is it weird to have a favourite métro stop?). There is always a queue outside, but it doesn’t take too long to get inside and seated.

I had the burger of the day, which as far as I can tell changes daily, but I definitely can’t visit often enough to know for sure. Signs inside explain that all of the beef for the burgers is of French origin. Ace. Boy had the So Cal burger – with mushrooms, avocado, and gruyere (pescetarian, what pescetarian?) which is maybe the best combination of burger toppings ever.

I made a fairly major mistake in ordering coleslaw instead of fries with my burger – I was rewarded with the biggest coleslaw side I have ever seen – no one could ever eat that much. Also, I don’t know if it’s a French thing or not, but so far all the coleslaw I’ve had here has been oddly sweet. I don’t think it’s my favourite. Fries are good, but not excellent, and our shared side of cheese fries went down fairly well.

We washed it all down with Sam Adams, which was excellent.

I don’t know if Breakfast in America will be my favourite burger in all of Paris, but I will definitely be back to try a more breakfast-y pancake option.

Stay tuned for more meaty nonsense. And maybe another sort-of-series, in which I adventure to try and find the best coffee in Paris.

2 Comments

Filed under Burgers, I love, Paris, Very good food

2 responses to “Is this the best burger in Paris? Part one: Breakfast in America

  1. GOOD TO KNOW! My fiancé always craves burgers in Paris and GREAT ones are hard to come by.

    • Thanks! BiA are good, but maybe not the best burger in Paris. I haven’t decided yet, but Koff in Montmartre are up there. Stay tuned for more burger chat!

Leave a Reply

