Is this the best burger in Newcastle? Part one: ARLO

I think it probably is. As far as I can tell, the Newcastle food scene isn’t exactly brilliant. There were 2 pretty good burgers to be eaten there, though. And we ate them in very quick succession (2 nights in a row. It felt good.) The first was in a cute tiny place I found by googling “food+jesmond” since I figured Jesmond was the place for a food revolution, if one was happening. We walked in the rain for about half an hour to find it. It was well worth the walk and the hunger – I thought boy was going to pass out.

ARLO is well designed, and was packed out when we arrived, at about 12:30. The barista station had a huge pile of amazing tempting cakey goodies piled up on top of it, which I succumbed to once the burger had been eaten. Nobody asked how the burgers were to be cooked, so they weren’t as pink in the middle as I would have liked, but they came quickly, and with a pile of amazing home fries, skin on, as they should be.

May in Newcastle - 20

Couldn’t resist taking a bite before I remembered to take a picture…

May in Newcastle - 19

There was also a board of hummus, crudites, tzatziki, and pittas. I’m not sure how I feel about the serving-on-chopping-boards thing. Yes, it’s very photogenic, but it’s also getting a little old, don’tcha think?

May in Newcastle - 18

Fries and chutney. Yes.

Since we were in Newcastle, here is a token photo of my beautiful bunboy.

May in Newcastle - 01

He gets more handsome every single day.

1 Comment

Filed under Burgers, Home sweet home, Very good food

One response to “Is this the best burger in Newcastle? Part one: ARLO

  1. Fritha

    Food revolution is also happening in the form of AMAZING pizza in Heaton! Next time you’re in Newcastle, we must go, you’ll fall in love! xxx

Leave a comment